Blog Archives

Coming soon! INK STAINS JANUARY 2018: DECAY

Ink Stains Update 2

I spent the first six months of this year as a guest editor for an upcoming issue of Dark Alley Press’ Ink Stains anthology series, and I’m pleased to announce that, except for a couple of rounds of proofing and the fact that the cover isn’t complete, it’s in the can!

This was my first stint as guest editor, and it was nothing short of a magical experience. There was something special about not just cherry-picking pieces for a collection from a slush pile, but curating a collection; tapping talent for some unpublished stories that had haunted me for—in some cases—a quarter of a century, or always anticipating that moment when that perfect story I have to have! would appear in the submissions manager.

In addition, every writer I worked with shared the vision; it was an enlightening journey in every sense of the phrase.

The theme of the issue was my choice—decay. It’s a pervasive Read the rest of this entry

Advertisements

Short Story Sunday: What Rough Beast

What Rough Beast, Daniel Pearlman

This disturbing rendering of a man who wonders why his wife is distant

The Final Dream & Other Fictions

Read the rest of this entry

Miss the Twist? Spin your Sunday: Daniel Pearlman on Scary Scribes here!

Daniel Pearlman joined us for a reading of his creepy short story “The Fetal Position” on May’s episode of Scary Scribes! Pearlman re-casts ordinary objects and has a knack for giving historic events an unexpected twist or two. If you’re looking for an interesting ride, his stories are the ticket.

You can listen anytime here:

http://www.blogtalkradio.com/paranormaleh/2012/05/27/scary-scribes-episode-5

Or right from this post by clicking here:

Scary Scribes Ep 5 – Daniel Pearlman, 05-27-2012

This author of two novels and several collections of short stories lived in Spainfor years, and his fantastical stories and novellas began appearing in 1987 in magazines and anthologies such as New England Review, Quarterly West, The MacGuffin, Nemonymous, Amazing Stories, Synergy, and Simulations. In 1995 he founded CLF, Council for the Literature of the Fantastic, whose object was to promote recognition of ignored work of literary quality in fantastic fiction. The project lasted through 1999, but has subsequently been taken up at other websites. He’s an active Member of the SFWA (Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America).

Pearlman re-casts ordinary objects and has a knack for giving historic events an unexpected twist or two. If you’re looking for an interesting ride, his stories are the ticket.

Twisting the Ordinary: Daniel Pearlman on tonight’s Scary Scribes

Daniel Pearlman

Daniel Pearlman knocks back a cold one at The Mews in Wakefield, Rhode Island, August, 2010.

Want to twist up your Memorial Day weekend? Join Scary Scribes for a reading of Daniel Pearlman’s “The Fetal Position” tonight at 6 p.m. on the Paranormal, Eh? Radio Network here: http://www.blogtalkradio.com/paranormaleh/2012/05/27/scary-scribes-episode-5

This author of two novels and several collections of short stories lived in Spainfor years, and his fantastical stories and novellas began appearing in 1987 in magazines and anthologies such as New England Review, Quarterly West, The MacGuffin, Nemonymous, Amazing Stories, Synergy, and Simulations. In 1995 he founded CLF, Council for the Literature of the Fantastic, whose object was to promote recognition of ignored work of literary quality in fantastic fiction. The project lasted through 1999, but has subsequently been taken up at other websites. He’s an active Member of the SFWA (Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America).

Pearlman re-casts ordinary objects and has a knack for giving historic events an unexpected twist or two. If you’re looking for an interesting ride, his stories are the ticket.

Daniel Pearlman’s Website (includes a comprehensive list of all of his books)

A Giant in the House & Other Excesses

Free Work Online

“Flies,” a story at Infinity Plus

“The Ground Under Man,” story at IFiction

“Unlike the Burbs,” a short-short at The Montreal Review

SPECULATIVE FICTION FEST IN PROVIDENCE STARTS THURSDAY

In Providence, Rhode Islandand looking for a spectacular way to kick off your Halloween festivities? The Brown Bookstore is holding its 1st Speculative Fiction Fest this Thursday through Saturday (Oct. 27-29), featuring readings by several popular speculative fiction authors, films, and panels.

Daniel Pearlman

Paul DiFilippo

The event kicks off at 4 p.m. Thursday with a showing of Val Lewton’s film classic, Cat People (I am assuming this is the Lewton film and not the 1980s remake, but I could be wrong) followed by readings from authors Daniel Pearlman (probably from his newest collection, A Giant in the House and Other Excesses) and Paul DiFilippo (Harsh Oases).

Brian Evenson

On Friday, author Brian Evenson (Fugue State) will read; at 6 p.m., there will be showing of the 2007 film Peur(s) du Noir (Fears of the Dark).

Paul Tremblay

John Langan

Laird Barron

Saturday’s offerings being at 2 p.m. with a talk on Graphic Fiction and the Comic Form; at 4 p.m., the writers will offer a panel discussion on the Speculative Fiction genre. At 5 p.m., authors Paul Tremblay (The Little Sleep, In the Mean Time), John Langan (Mr. Gaunt and Other Uneasy Encounters), and Laird Barron (The Imago Sequence and Occultation, both of which won the Shirley Jackson Award for Best Collection) will read from their work.

For directions and more about Brown Bookstore, visit here: http://www.shopbrown.com/. For the event’s official flyer, visit here: http://bookstore.brown.edu/fictionfest.pdf

Short Takes: Pearlman’s “The Colonel’s Jeep”

How many of us have wished we could wind back the clock? Smooth out the rough-and-tumble? Undo the damage, lose the weight?

We can. You can find out how–and at what cost–in Daniel Pearlman’s chilling novelette, “The Colonel’s Jeep,” which is set in the steppes of Russia during World War II—a most unlikely place for healing, no?

You’re right. Fans of Serling and Bradbury will not want to miss this one. I promise.

“The Colonel’s Jeep” originally appeared in Pearlman’s most recent collection The Best Known Man in the World and Other Misfits—but this spellbinding read is now available on Kindle from 40K Books here: http://amzn.com/B0057REHB4

PEARLMAN’S NOVELLA THE FINAL DREAM NOW IN E-BOOK

Daniel Pearlman’s The Final Dream is now available in e-book over at fortykey [www.40kbooks.com]. This piece, about a future world in which nightmares are conveniently avoided (until, of course, something goes terribly wrong), can be purchased here: http://40kbooks.com/?p=7695#. The novella is part of his 1995 collection The Final Dream and Other Fictions.*

* On an incidental note: the original collection The Final Dream and Other Fictions (which can be purchased here: http://amzn.com/1882633059) also contains my absolute favorite short story of Dan’s, “What Rough Beast.” If you were one of the recipients of this year’s chapbook Denigrating David, then you read in the introduction that I was on a quest to discover the specific inspirational roots of many of my stories. Dan read what I’d written—specifically the line in which I mentioned “What Rough Beast,” stating that I’d love to know what had inspired it—and he sent me back an e-mail: “it was the news report of an attempted interspecies mating (a moose—or was it a New Zealand sea lion—with a cow?).”[1]


[1] Daniel Pearlman, e-mail message to author, February 2, 2011.


PEARLMAN’S NOVELLA BRAIN & BREAKFAST NOW AVAILABLE AT SAM’S DOT

Daniel Pearlman’s novella, Brain & Breakfast, has just been released by Sam’s Dot Publishing! I’m really excited for this one—he’s been working on a series of science fiction stories which feature a detective, Merkouros. I’ve had the privilege of reading many of them before they’re published, and I’m thrilled to see this one out in the world for everyone to enjoy. From the Sam’s Dot Website:

Brain & Breakfast by Daniel Pearlman

…a novella about a detective, Merkouros, who tracks down a criminal across space and time and alternate universes.  Here’s an excerpt:

“You are detective, right?” asked the Russian cabbie.  “You can’t be husband or boyfriend, not of chick like that. I mean, pardon me, but you don’t look like sugardaddy, and the hair you comb back is covering bald spot not too good.  Is giving you middle-aged ratty look, know what I’m saying?”

“You’re very observant,” said Merkouros, looking at the broad-featured cabbie smiling at him in his mirror. “I’m a private detective,” he added, only half lying.  Could he tell him that he worked for the Federal Police, City of New York—but not of this New York?  If that ex-Muscovite thought he had had a hard time landing on his feet in merely a different city of his own spatiotemporal framework, then what would he think of someone who’d had to relocate to a different dimension—from the New York of Plane 1 to this treacherously different “New York” of Plane 7—to a world where one’s fundamental values were as untranslatable as one’s money was inconvertible?

“That’s her!” shouted Merkouros, pulling back from the window. “In that black dress half up her thighs.  You see?  She’s looking this way.  She sees this cab is taken.  She’ll go to the corner and pick up another cab.  When she does, don’t lose her.”

Interested? It’s just under $8 with shipping and you can buy it here: http://www.genremall.com/fictionr.htm#brainandbreakfast

PUT A LITTLE CREEP UNDER THE TREE WITH CHRISTMAS FEAR

My short story “Bridging Christmas” shares a Table of Contents with speculative fiction writer Daniel Pearlman’s “Household Gods”—which is one hell of a great story—in Static Movment’s Christmas Fear anthology.

The anthology is a collection of creepy stories about Christmas and might just make a unique gift for that impossible-to-buy for short story lover!

You can get it on Amazon here:

http://amzn.com/1617060658

“BRIDGING CHRISTMAS” CHOSEN FOR REPRINT IN CHRISTMAS FEARS ANTHOLOGY

I just love a creepy Christmas (well, let’s face it, that’s when I get most of my horror entertainment for the year as gifts)! My short story “Bridging Christmas,” which served as my 2008 Christmas Card as a chapbook and took 3rd place in Toasted Cheese’s Dead of Winter Contest 2008, was selected for reprint in Static Movement’s Christmas Fears anthology.

HOWEVER, THE MOST EXCITING NEWS: Daniel Pearlman, a speculative fiction writer whom I’ve long admired, will also have a story featured in the same anthology. The piece he submitted hasn’t seen the light of day since 1985, and I don’t know what the title is, but I’m sure it’s going to be a great Stocking Stuffer. If you love spec-fic and haven’t gotten the chance to read any of his work, you’re missing out…you can check out his books here:

THE BEST-KNOWN MAN IN THE WORLD AND OTHER MISFITS: http://amzn.to/d13T9n

THE FINAL DREAM AND OTHER FICTIONS: http://amzn.to/9qgq6v

BLACK FLAMES: http://amzn.to/dbvXRm

MEMINI: http://amzn.to/8Z7dKH

%d bloggers like this: